MX – Simoniacal (1988) Review

Hi guys! Today I will review about another brazilian classic band (please, don’t get angry with me because i’m always posting a new brazilian band, I love the old school scene and there is some bands that you guys simply HAVE to know!) Let’s start it! The band that I will review today is called MX, they have returned to the stages and I want so much to see them live, but I have to wait they come to my state, but, well, the band was formed in 1985 in São Paulo, by Alexandre da Cunha, Décio Fragnani, Alexandre “Morto (Dead)” Favoretto and Beraldo (R.I.P.) (this last I guess). They play that fast and well done thrash closer to bay area thrash metal than brazilian thrash, with death metal grunts, with some slow parts and nice solos and lyrics talking about war, society, religion, horror movies, etc. They were the opening acts in Brazil for Testament in 1989 and Exodus in 1997. The album I will write is called Simoniacal released in 1988.

Imagem

(Fuck! Don’t smash this money, i have to buy new equipment!)

The album starts with my favorite song of the album, Dirty Bitch, a fast thrash metal song with funny lyrics talking about a ugly bitch, with a simple but catchy chorus (“We go to fuck this bitch now,fuck off this bitch! We go to fuck this bitch now,fuck off this bitch!”) is a short and fast song, not a incredible but will make you surely bang your head. The next song is Fighting for the Bastards, that talks about evil people that end with the life of people who wanted to keep living, a song with nice solos and riffs made to make you ask yourself why you didn’t discovered this band before. The next song is Satanic Noise, the lyrics are really cool, talks about the sound of the band! (“A noise breaking the silence of depths, a noise that came to change your life, a noise that came to stay, a noise that came to shock!”) This song will be one of your favorites songs of this album, that’s for sure! Just sing with me the chorus, “We’re all a death legion, a infernal machine!”. And, there is other two songs that I have to spotlight,the first is Jason (YES!!!!!) one of the best songs of the album, good lyrics and chorus (“Killing and making sacrifices, his blood is cold, to avenge the soul of his mother, when you think that he is dead, Jason is alive“) and Dark Dream, I’ll give a cookie for guessing which character from horror movie this songs talks about! No, I won’t, I will eat it and say to you that the song talks about Freddy Krueger, in my opinion it’s one of the best songs!

Closing Comments

Simoniacal is surely one of the best releases of the worldwide thrash metal,if you doesn’t have listened to it yet, please, listen to it,bang so much and be a little bit happy, hahaha, well… just bang your head and sing it loud!

-Blackthrasher

Leave a Reply

